Filtaku Universe Online

Karaoke & more!

Creation of a Mascot Part 1

Leave a comment


Every now and then, I’ve thought about giving Filtaku a mascot and then one day, after surfing the web, I found out about K.Hmix through another otaku blog, http://www.sakuraindex.jp/.  K.Hmix is an anime 2d character generator.  You pick out different tid bits like hair style, eyes, expressions, clothing and create your 2d character.  Sakura Index used K.Hmix to create their mascot, Sakura Izumi.  So I figured why not?  My drawing skills are horrid (but I’ll keep practicing xO) so I’ll give this a go.  At the very least, I could use it to create a template or an idea base to where I could create what I would want.  The question now was where to start.

I’ve had characters and plots constantly rolling around in my head but there has always been this one character that rose up and became my second-in-command of sorts.  Her name is Saeko.  Although I haven’t really sat down and written out the details of her character, I know that she should at least have purple/lavanderish hair, some what short, and leader of the resident loli ninja corps.  Reconnaissance tier 1 agents trained in the ninja arts and willing to my bidding, muahahah~!

So I chose to incarnate my little commander and fiddled with the incomprehensible japanese text buttons (I can’t read japanese!).  After clicking everything that could be clicked to see what they did, I manage to create my template (shown above).  Saeko depicted! Yes… maybe.  She’s still a work in progress but at least it is a start.  I’ll post back later and discuss the various design ideas I’d like to incorporate.  Maybe show some of the horrible doodles!

Author: PJ

I am a filipino college student that enjoys watching anime, gaming, and is an airsoft enthusiast.

Leave a Reply

